Tag Archive | awards

Bikramjit Basu named winner of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award


Wiley author Bikramjit Basu, was awarded 2013’s Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Award The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology is awarded annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), India, for outstanding research in subjects including the chemical sciences.

Dr Basu was honored for his work with encompassing theory and experiments to significantly enhance the understanding of in-vitro cell functionality modulation on engineered biomaterials using electric field simulation approach

Bikramjit Basu, PhD, is an associate professor in the Department of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. His research interests include ceramic and polymer-based biocompatible materials, nanoceramics and nanoceramic composites, and tribology of advanced materials. Additionally, he has received the Coble Award of the American Ceramic Society in 2008 and was recognized by the Indian National Science Academy and the Indian National Academy of Engineering. Bikramjit Basu has co-authored several titles for Wiley-ACerS including: Tribology of Ceramics and Composites: Materials Science Perspective, Advanced Biomaterials: Fundamentals, Processing, and Applications, and, Advanced Structural Ceramics.

You can read more about the prize and previous winners in Angewandte ChemieVolume 51, Issue 50.

Did you win an award this year? If so, let us know… we’d love to spotlight you!

Professor Ian Ward named Staudinger-Durrer Prizewinner


At Materials Day, which was held November 13th at ETH Zurich, Professor Ian Ward won the Staudinger-Durrer Prize for his contributions in the area of mechanical properties of solid polymers and polymer-based composites. The prize, named after Hermann Staudinger and Robert Durrer, honors those with outstanding services to materials science.


Professor Ian M. Ward is an internationally-recognized and well-respected authority on the mechanical properties of solid polymers. Currently, he  is a professor of Physics at Leeds University, a position he’s held since 1970. He is also a co-founder of the British Polymer Physics Group and the winner of several other awards, including 2004’s the Glazebrook Medal of the Institute of Physics and the Netlon Award. In addition, he is the co-author of Mechanical Properties of Solid Polymers, now in its 3rd Edition.

Did you win an award this year? If so, let us know…we’d love to spotlight you!